eMoneySpace
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
News: Welcome to eMoneySpace! Nov 28, 2022 11:54 am




Google Chrome - Bug that might drive you crazy
Print
Author Topic: Google Chrome - Bug that might drive you crazy  (Read 1426 times)
Fennec
Reputation: (+70)
*

Offline

Posts: 954
Referrals: 10

View Profile
Sep 09, 2009 11:03 pm

I have been working on a piece of code, that updates some stats, so I execute the script, page gets rendered, and when I check the stats, the update was done twice, the funny part is that this happens only in  Chrome, Firefox/IE seems works fine, but just chrome seems to execute the script twice, I spent an hour investigating the problem, it turned out that I had an image tag (img) with an empty src like this : <img src=""/>

so what chrome does is it actually calls the same script as the src, and you end up getting the results as if the script was executed twice.

be careful not to leave empty src in img tags, it can drive you crazy  frusty, specially if the page is huge makes even more difficult to spot the problem.

Also Googled this, and it turned out its a bug in Chrome :
2027 :              .com BUG9798 MAC : LayoutTests/fast/images/load-img-with-empty-src.html = FAIL PASS

you can see that here : http://src.chromium.org/viewvc/chrome/trunk/src/webkit/tools/layout_tests/test_expectations.txt?annotate=24840&pathrev=24840#l2027

PS : I don't know if they fixed this issue in versions > 2.172.43
Logged
AjayP
Reputation: (+20)
*

Offline

Posts: 2218
Referrals: 4


View Profile
Reply #1: Sep 09, 2009 11:09 pm

Thats stupid, I know of javascript applications, that leave the src empty and then assign values later through javascript.
Logged
Delusional

Reputation: (+2)
*

Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4713
Referrals: 6


GPSBlack Creator

View Profile WWW
Reply #2: Sep 10, 2009 01:38 am

I have been working on a piece of code, that updates some stats, so I execute the script, page gets rendered, and when I check the stats, the update was done twice, the funny part is that this happens only in  Chrome, Firefox/IE seems works fine, but just chrome seems to execute the script twice, I spent an hour investigating the problem, it turned out that I had an image tag (img) with an empty src like this : <img src=""/>

so what chrome does is it actually calls the same script as the src, and you end up getting the results as if the script was executed twice.

be careful not to leave empty src in img tags, it can drive you crazy  frusty, specially if the page is huge makes even more difficult to spot the problem.

Also Googled this, and it turned out its a bug in Chrome :
2027 :              .com BUG9798 MAC : LayoutTests/fast/images/load-img-with-empty-src.html = FAIL PASS

you can see that here : http://src.chromium.org/viewvc/chrome/trunk/src/webkit/tools/layout_tests/test_expectations.txt?annotate=24840&pathrev=24840#l2027

PS : I don't know if they fixed this issue in versions > 2.172.43
it does the same thing with empty variables
Logged

the joker
Reputation: (0)
*

Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 32
Referrals: 0

View Profile WWW
Reply #3: Sep 11, 2009 02:01 pm

FireFos is the Best ... i know that there is a lot of bugs on chrome and i think it's acceptable because it's the first versions
Logged

tixepower
Reputation: (+15)
*

Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5225
Referrals: 6


Cry me a river girl.. ;'(

View Profile WWW
Reply #4: Sep 11, 2009 06:23 pm

Chrome is good as long as you don't have to view weird java/flash things
Logged

Delusional

Reputation: (+2)
*

Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4713
Referrals: 6


GPSBlack Creator

View Profile WWW
Reply #5: Sep 11, 2009 11:10 pm

actually alot of the java and flash work fine and are faster for me on chrome. firefox though might be considered best but it takes up too much ram on my pc, while chrome doesn't take up really anything.
Logged

darrenan
Reputation: (+32)
*

Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2703
Referrals: 378


Janitor @ CashAdda.com!

View Profile WWW
Reply #6: Sep 11, 2009 11:21 pm

Chrome is good as long as you don't have to view weird java/flash things

I don't really see many errors but chrome is for sure much faster than firefox.
I am using Chrome 4.0.x and lot of bugs have already been removed in it.
Logged

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
tixepower
Reputation: (+15)
*

Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5225
Referrals: 6


Cry me a river girl.. ;'(

View Profile WWW
Reply #7: Sep 12, 2009 12:06 am

Well, for me sometimes sound dissepear in Chrome :/ Also I remember chrome totaly closing after entering alexa.com, was funny big grin But fixed now I think.
Logged

Delusional

Reputation: (+2)
*

Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4713
Referrals: 6


GPSBlack Creator

View Profile WWW
Reply #8: Sep 12, 2009 12:21 am

I don't really see many errors but chrome is for sure much faster than firefox.
I am using Chrome 4.0.x and lot of bugs have already been removed in it.
yeah thats what i use. plus it helps that mozilla helped in the efforts of creating google chrome so it uses about the same core.
Logged

Print
 
Jump to:  
Copyright © 2008-2022 eMoneySpace. All rights reserved.